Welcome!

Welcome to my new blog, Living With Miracles!

Here you’ll find devotionals written specifically for those who care for loved ones with Alzheimer’s, along with their families, friends, and anyone who supports them. 

When my mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, I had no formal training, no experience, and no friends or associates who could share their insights regarding the caregiving job I was about to undertake. I was hungry for help, but also for hope and encouragement. I wanted to guide Mom, protect her, and do all in my power to help her and Dad continue to enjoy life. 

But the road through the wilderness of Alzheimer’s was filled with questions. What did we find as we searched for answers? Hard realities, yes. But also…

Miracles! As we wound along the dark path, we found guideposts and warm cottages where we could rest. We found shortcuts and scenic byways. We traveled through times and places and events of almost unbearable sadness, but we were also refreshed by moments of humor, when laughter rang loud and true. We met kind people all along the way, ready to help, encourage, sympathize, or simply smile.They were the biggest miracles of all, the ones for whom we were most grateful.

I pray these devotionals remind you of God’s power and mercy working with you, for you, every day. I’ve been where you are. I’ve held a hand very like the one you are holding. I saw God’s miracles. Be watchful; I know you’ll see them too.

You have my prayers. May you know His peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , by atimeformiracles. Bookmark the permalink.

About atimeformiracles

I'm a writer. And a speaker. And an advocate for victims of Alzheimer's. I write about a lot of things, but right now Alzheimer's has taken center stage. You'll see some of my work on my blog alzheimershopeandhelp.wordpress.com. If you're a caregiver, this blog is for you, from someone who has been in your shoes. I offer help in the form of tips and strategies gained through my personal experience. I offer encouragement in the form of witness: You are never alone. The God of all hope is always with you, and where He is, miracles abound. I speak to groups on the same subject, sharing helps and challenging caregivers to expect joy on the path through Alzheimer's. It's a rough road, but it leads through terrain of intense beauty. I can point out some of the miraculous sights along the way. In the U.S., a new diagnosis of Alzheimer's is made every 69 seconds. Please join me in praying for those suffering from the disease and for those who care for them.

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. This blog in itself is a miracle of encouragement. Thank you so much for sharing what you have learned….both the “easy” and the “hard”. You help us all to be stronger.

Leave a Reply

